Today’s Kids, Tomorrow’s Stars

Dbacks help Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Phoenix hit one out of the ballpark

Derrick Hall and the Arizona Diamondbacks helped the Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Phoenix hit one out of the ballpark at the annual Today’s Kids, Tomorrow’s Stars fundraiser. The March 17 gala drew 950 guests to the Westin Kierland Resort & Spa and netted more than $2.2 million to support the 13 Clubhouses around the Valley and the 11,000-plus youth served.

Hall, CEO of the Arizona Diamondbacks, was honored with the Heart of a Champion Award by the Torch Club youth from the Swift Branch, who presented the award along with Leonel Cano Leon, 2017 Youth of the Year. The event honored both Hall and the Arizona Diamondbacks for their 20 years of support for BGCMP and the greater Arizona nonprofit community. During the program, Jody Jackson of Fox Sports Arizona interviewed Hall about the Dbacks philanthropic efforts over the years.

Dbacks Archie Bradley and Taijuan Walker acted as the All-Star team managers during the Youth of the Year program. The two popular players presented the 13 Youth of the Year teens with Diamondbacks jerseys bearing their names.

Selected from the 13 outstanding youth, Cyrus Martinez was named Youth of the Year by BGCMP. The prestigious honor is bestowed upon an exemplary young person in recognition of leadership, service, academic excellence and dedication to live a healthy lifestyle.

The fundraising efforts included silent and live auctions as well as a donor call from BGCMP president and CEO Marcia Mintz. In addition, the Arizona Diamondbacks Foundation surprised organizers with a $350,000 donation to BGCMP and another $50,000 from Major League Baseball. Emily and Zack Greinke’s foundation contributed an additional $150,000. Some of those dollars will be used for an upgrade for the Diamondbacks Branch Teen Center.

Following dinner, guests kicked off their shoes and grabbed flip-flops to enjoy a 10th Inning after-party with music, cigars and more.


Dianea Rodriguez, Bob & Renee Parsons Branch; Melanie Moreno, Jerry & Helen Wisotsky Branch, Peoria; Kevin McHolland, BGCMP board chair; and Becky McHolland

Carole and Nicole Moreno

Marcia Mintz, president and CEO Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Phoenix

Youth of the Year Cyrus Martinez

Youth of the Year nominees

Youth of the Year with Archie Bradley and Taijuan Walker

Ralph Marchetta and GinaMarie Scarpa

Lori and Russ Scaramella

The ballroom

Derrick Hall with Torch Club

Cullen Maxey, Dbacks, and Ruben Galicia

More in Society

Recent Stories

ASU Art Museum’s Art + Architecture Tour

ASU Art Museum’s Art + Architecture Tour

Tour showcases five homes with exceptional architecture and world-class art collections

Art d’Core Gala

Art d’Core Gala

7th annual event kicks off Artlink’s Art Detour 31

Save the Family Gala

Save the Family Gala

Organization raises $200K to help end family homelessness

Valley Youth Theatre Oscar Event

Valley Youth Theatre Oscar Event

More than 100 attend red-carpet party at Galvanize

Back to Top